T20 World Cup Player of the Tournament list: from 2007 to 2024

by Soumen Pahari 27th June, 2024, 10.20 pm

Every T20 World Cup has witnessed incredible performances. But only a few have clinched the prestigious Player of the Tournament award. Let’s dive into the legends who’ve made history!

T20 World Cup Glory 

The Boom Boom Magic   The inaugural T20 World Cup in 2007 saw Pakistan's Shahid Afridi shine with his all-round brilliance. His explosive batting and vital wickets were unforgettable. 

2007 - Shahid Afridi

The Inventor of the Dilscoop  In 2009, Sri Lanka's Tillakaratne Dilshan dazzled everyone with his innovative shots and top-scoring exploits. A true game-changer!

2009 - Tillakaratne Dilshan 

England’s Powerhouse   England’s Kevin Pietersen was a force to be reckoned with in 2010. His aggressive batting and match-winning knocks led England to their first T20 title.

2010 - Kevin Pietersen 

Australia’s All-Round Maestro  2012 belonged to Australia’s Shane Watson, whose consistent performances with both bat and ball made him a standout player throughout the tournament. 

2012 - Shane Watson 

The Chase Master  Virat Kohli’s remarkable consistency and ability to chase down targets earned him the Player of the Tournament in 2014. A masterclass in batting!

2014 - Virat Kohli 

Dominance Personified   Kohli did it again in 2016, proving his supremacy in the shortest format. His exceptional form and clutch performances were pivotal for India.

2016 - Virat Kohli (Again) 

The Comeback King  After a dip in form, David Warner bounced back spectacularly in 2021, leading Australia to their maiden T20 World Cup title with his explosive batting.

2021 - David Warner 

The young gun of England flourishes with both bat and ball. His allround performance help England to win their second T20 world cup title.

2022 - Sam Curran 

The speedstar of India helps his team to clinch their 2nd T20 title with his tremendous bowling performance throughout the tournament.

2024 - Jasprit Bumrah